Defense Media Network

Newest Defense Media Network Promotion

Surface Navy Association Announces Hall of Fame Inductees, Award Winners

Compiled from Surface Navy Association Press Releases

The Surface Navy Association (SNA) announced its 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees and Surface Navy Awards Program Winners during the Surface Navy Association’s National Symposium in January. The SNA was incorporated in 1985 to promote greater coordination and communication among those in the military, business, and academic communities who share a common interest in Surface Warfare while supporting the activities of Surface Naval Forces. Each year at the Surface Navy Association’s National Symposium, the SNA announces the newest inductees into the Surface Navy Association Hall of Fame, as well as its Awards Program Winners.

Individuals recognized in the SNA’s Hall of Fame are representatives of naval heroes, past and present, who have made an exceptionally significant contribution to the Continental Navy, U.S. Surface Navy, U.S. Coast Guard or to Navy Surface Warfare, as a member of the armed services or as a civilian.


2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

Admiral Thad W. Allen, USCG (Ret) – 1971-2010

23rd Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard

Admiral Allen assumed the duties of the 23rd Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard on May 25th, 2006. During his tenure as the top officer of the nation’s oldest continuous sea service he led the effort to reform and modernize all aspects of the Coast Guard, thereby “improving and sustaining Mission Execution.”


Boatswain’s Mate Second Class Joseph L. George, USN (Ret) – 1935-1955

Rescued Six USS Arizona (BB-39) Sailors while serving on USS Vestal (AR-4)

For heroic action while serving on the Vestal during the attack on Pearl Harbor. Following the massive explosion on the Arizona, six sailors were trapped in the control tower on the Arizona’s main mast, kept there by the fires raging below. At least two bombs had hit the Vestal and flames spread after the explosion on the Arizona. A senior officer wanted to get the Vestal underway, move it back from the sinking Arizona and the flames burning oil in the water’s surface. George saw the six men on the Arizona. They were injured badly, trapped, waving, pleading for help as fire raged on the deck beneath them. An officer ordered him to cut the Vestal loose. George refused and subsequently saved the lives of those sailors.


Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy John Hagan, USN (Ret) – 1964-1998

Catalyst for the Navy’s Leadership Continuum

During his 5 ½ years as the Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy MCPON John Hagan reinforced the crucial importance of a healthy mind in a healthy body. By implementing a naval heritage and core values reading initiative, he encouraged Sailors to investigate the traditions to which they are heir. By setting a personal example of physical fitness, he was proof positive that hard work is no excuse for poor fitness. Because he knows the value of higher education, MCPON Hagan was successful in making pace courses and computer based college materials more widely available to deploying and remote units. He was the catalyst for the Navy’s leadership continuum, which provided focused leadership training at key career milestones within both the officer and enlisted communities. By strengthening the enlisted warfare qualification system, he placed the qualification in its proper perspective; not as the pinnacle of a career, but as a symbol of professional proficiency and a vital element of career advancement. Through a revamped Chief Petty Officer initiation program, MCPON Hagan ensured that valuable traditions were retained and strengthened by a new emphasis on team-building, Navy core values, and leadership.


Electronic Technician Third Class James Terry Halbardier, USN – 1964-1970

Gallantry in Action

For conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity in action while serving on board the Liberty (AGTR-5), on 8 June 1967. The Liberty was attacked by Israeli aircraft and motor torpedo boats in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea on the fourth day of the SIX DAY WAR. Petty Officer Halbardier, without hesitation and with complete disregard for his own personal safety, fearlessly and repeatedly exposed himself to overwhelming rocket and machine­gun fire to repair a damaged antenna in an open deck area during heavy aerial attacks.


Rear Admiral Grace Murray Hopper, USN (Ret) – 1943-1986

Pioneer in Computer Programming

Naval Reservist who was frequently on active duty because of her pioneering competence in computer programming. A Doctor of Philosophy in Mathematics and Physics, she joined the Bureau of Ordnance Computation Project at Harvard during World War II and wrote the first computer program for the Navy’s first large-scale digital computer, Mark I. Her work had a profound effect on the development of modern day Surface Navy computer systems.

Lieutenant (then Gunner) Jackson C. Pharris, USN (Ret) – 1933-1948

Medal of Honor during Pearl Harbor attack while serving on USS California (BB-44)

For conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty while attached to the California during the surprise enemy Japanese aerial attack on Pearl Harbor, 7 December 1941. In charge of the ordnance repair party on the third deck when the first Japanese torpedo struck almost directly under his station, LT (then Gunner) Pharris was stunned and severely injured by the concussion which hurled him to the overhead and back to the deck. Quickly recovering, he acted on his own initiative to set up a hand-supply ammunition train for the antiaircraft guns. Twice rendered unconscious by the nauseous fumes and handicapped by his painful injuries, he persisted in his desperate efforts to speed up the supply of ammunition and at the same time repeatedly risked his life to enter flooding compartments and drag to safety unconscious shipmates who were gradually being submerged in oil.

Surface Navy Association 2018 Awards Program Winners

The Surface Navy Association awards program recognizes outstanding Sailors, Cuttermen, dependents, future Sailors and civilian military supporters. The awards program recognizes members of the community whose achievements have contributed to the legacy of Surface Warriors. This group represents heroes, past and present, who have served their nation in the surface ships of the Fleet. Complete information on each award can be found on our website under the Awards Tab.



LT Jared Carlson, USN – USS Stethem (DDG 63); GM2 (SW) Aaron Peter, USN – USS Curtis Wilbur (DDG 54); LTJG Michael Pryor, USN – USS Carney (DDG 64) and OS1 (SW/AW) Regynald Flores, USN – USS Porter (DDG 78)



MN1 (SW) Daniel Cadigan, USN – USS Sentry (MCM 3); ETCM (SW/AW) Victor Harris, USN – USS Harry S. Truman (CVN 75) and ISC (SW/AW/IW) Joshua Winfrey – USS Antietam (CG 54)



Grand Prize: MC3 Patrick Morrissey, USN; 1st Place Operations: MC3 Patrick Morrissey, USN; 1st Place Ships: MC2 Matthew Dickinson, USN and 1st Place Personal Interest: MC3 Jonathan Clay, USN



Superior Cutter (Large) Winner: USCGC JAMES (WMSL 754); Superior Cutter (Small) Winner: USCGC JOHN MCCORMICK (WPC 1121); Officer Superior Cutterman Winner: LTJG Anna Ruth, USCG; and Enlisted Superior Cutterman Winner: MK2 Jason Tribeck, USCG



Winner: LT Benjamin Kozlowski, USN – USS Stout (DDG 55) and Runner Up: LTJG Alexander Davis, USN – USS Porter (DDG 78)



HM1 (SW/FMF) Justin Cayetano, USN – USS Gridley (DDG 101) and HMCS (SW/FMF/AW) Noel Martinez, USN – USS Carney (DDG 64)



Winner: LT John Miller, USN for “There Are No Benign Operations” published in Proceedings, September 2017 and Honorable Mention : LTJG Daniel Stefanus, USN for “Embracing The Dark Battle” published in Proceedings, April 2017



Mr. Charlie McCullough; CAPT Dave Poyer, USN (Ret) and CAPT Rick Rushton, USN (Ret)



LCDR Louis Conter, USN (Ret) and GM2/c. Donald Stratton


%d bloggers like this: